Graduate Theological Union

Quick Facts

Founded by ecumenical pioneers in 1962, the Graduate Theological Union in Berkeley, California, is the largest and most diverse partnership of seminaries and graduate schools in the United States. Our interfaith approach attracts leading theologians, scholars of religion, and students from around the world who are pursuing new models for interreligious collaboration in teaching, research, ministry, and service.

Study at the GTU is intellectually challenging and rich in resources. As a consortium, we have the largest theological faculty in one location in the United States. Students pursuing a Ph.D., Th.D., or M.A. share a world-class library, access to more than 700 courses across member schools and academic disciplines, and a strong sense of community. Here, honest exchanges arise, world views expand, understanding deepens.

The mission of the GTU is to:
  • Educate men and women for vocations of ministry and scholarship
  • Equip leaders for a future of diverse religions and cultures
  • Teach patterns of faith which nurture justice and peace
  • Serve as an educational and theological resource for local communities, the nation, and the world.

President:  Riess Potterveld

Dean:   Arthur Holder

Degrees Offered:  Ph.D., Th.D., and M.A. degrees; other professional degree programs (including D.Min., S.T.M., Th.M., and M.Div.) are administered by member schools

Enrollment:  1,150 graduate students, with more than 300 enrolled in GTU doctoral or common master's programs

Faculty:  More than 100 full-time faculty across the consortium

Flora Lamson Hewlett Library:  More than 500,000 volumes, 1160 periodical subscriptions, and 295,000 non-book holdings; 6,000-7,000 new titles added per year

Board of Trustees:  Up to 50 members, including 16 institutional representatives, 24 members-at-large, and faculty, student, and alumni representatives

Accreditation:  The GTU is fully accredited by the Association of Theological Schools and the WASC Senior College and University Commission.

Member Schools

Centers of Distinction