Graduate Theological Union

Member Schools

American Baptist Seminary of the West

American Baptist Churches, USA
The American Baptist Seminary of the West (ABSW) is one of several founding members of the Graduate Theological Union. An important center of Baptist theological education in the United States, it is both evangelical and ecumenical, academic and practical.

ABSW logo

Church Divinity School of the Pacific

Episcopal Church
The Church Divinity School of the Pacific (CDSP) is the only Episcopal seminary located west of the Rockies. CDSP’s Center for Anglican Learning and Leadership (CALL) bridges the gap between scholars and non-scholars, clergy and lay people – one of the many ways the GTU brings religion to meet the world.


Dominican School of Philosophy & Theology

Roman Catholic Church
As the only GTU member school to offer a joint degree program in philosophy and theology, the Dominican School of Philosophy & Theology (DSPT) integrates philosophical and theological inquiry with contemporary issues important to the academy, Church, and society, creating that collaborative environment which is at the heart of the GTU experience.


Jesuit School of Theology of Santa Clara University

Roman Catholic Church
One of only two Jesuit theological centers in the United States, the Jesuit School of Theology of Santa Clara University (JST) embodies the GTU's global mission in its commitment to changing lives for the better: "We know that in order to reach out to others, you must begin with yourself."


Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America
Drawing on its Lutheran heritage even as it looks ahead to the future, Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary (PLTS) is a major contributor to the GTU’s critical and creative scholarship, with ten of its professors also serving as GTU core doctoral faculty.


Pacific School of Religion

With a long tradition of engaging diverse faith communities, Pacific School of Religion (PSR) is a valuable part of the GTU's crossroads of teaching, research, ministry, and research.


San Francisco Theological Seminary

Presbyterian Church (USA)
As a founding member, San Francisco Theological Seminary (SFTS) adds to the GTU's critical and creative scholarship by emphasizing the comprehensive integration of spiritual formation, critical theological reflection, and the skills and arts of ministry in preparing whole church leaders committed to the mission of the triune God for the transformation of the world.


Starr King School for the Ministry

Unitarian Universalist Association
Starr King School for the Ministry (SKSM) is student-centered, multi-religious, and counter-oppressive.  It is one of two Unitarian Universalist theological schools in the United States and the only GTU member school offering a distance learning Master of Divinity degree program.  SKSM welcomes scholars from all backgrounds; its Islamic Studies courses help the GTU create understanding that bridges divides, and it collaborates with the GTU’s Center for Jewish Studies and other member schools to study the pedagogical traditions of the Abrahamic faiths.



Logos are the property of their respective schools and may not be used without their permission.